SUCCESS!

I feel like a real hacker!

Though I couldn’t find a way to convert text to audio, other than as a voice simulation, I’ve finally figured out how to convert video files to audio. I’m surprised how exciting this is to me – I’m beside myself with pleasure for figuring it out.

Much fiddling ahead, as after my 1st two successes I have managed to crash the software 3 times while trying out different effects.

I’m thrilled, and staying with it. Something about the idea of sounds created from visuals just amazes me. TRANSMUTATION of pure data from one media to another.

This is also what is exciting to me about Eduardo Kac’s work, even though I dislike his ethics – turning text into DNA data to create something brand new is very exciting. Thankfully, my audio files require no moral responsibility.